“Relish The Moments”

 @DimTillard pic 19

by @DimTillard


  • A delicious part of being a baseball player is that it takes you all over the map.  Because of the traveling, I’ve been able to indulge in some pretty eye-watering food.
  • Whether it’s a doughnut in Portland, custard in Milwaukee, muffalettas in New Orleans, or cheesesteaks in Philly, I love trying local tastes.
  • The furthest destination baseball has taken me is to Campeche, Mexico.  During spring training, we ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the stadium’s cafetería.
  • I don’t know mucho Spanish, but I did learn one phrase, “seen frijoles“.  In the local dialect this vitally means, “no beans please“. (only beans I eat are jelly)  And since every meal, snack, or beverage came with beans, I used this phrase a lot.
  • And the meals at the stadium were pretty ordinary until, one day…

The morning seemed normal, as I arrived at the field.  I picked up a food tray and stood in line for breakfast.  “Hola!” said I, as I walked up to the counter.  “Seen frijoles!”  As the disappointed amigo with the enormous spoon of refried beans turned away, I saw another plate being filled.  This plate, at first glance, appeared to be only scrambled eggs.  But just like a box of Cracker Jack, these eggs had a prize inside…  Hot dogs.  Whaaa… you mean… hot dogs?  Yeah… hot dogs.

Now, I love hot dogs… but I’d never considered it a breakfast food.  And it could’ve been me or it could’ve been something in the Mexican water, but all I can say is BUENO!  I crushed it.  Every bit. (“Slimy yet satisfying!“)

Soon after (full of eggs and hot dogs) we started practice with a 45 minute stretch/agility session.  When practice was over, we took a bus for our game on the road.  Upon sitting down, I was handed a sacked lunch.  While making a joke about breakfast, I opened my bag of food.  I found a banana, a bag of chips, a “Fanta”, and a hamburger.  As I lifted the sesame top for pickle removal, I was intrigued by the sight of one of my condiments…  Hot dog?  Oh yeah… hot dog.

Cut in half, and sliced long ways; the hot dog sat atop the burger like lettuce or a slice of cheese.  My raised left eyebrow gave creative and innovative props to the chef.

Minutes after the the game was over, a hungry baseball team scrambled back onto the bus.  Staring out the window, as the bus zoomed by the red “ALTO” signs, I begin guestimating just how many hot dogs I had consumed that day.

When the bus came to a complete alto, it was a sprint to the food line.  My mind was racing too, “What is it?  What is it?  Could it be?  A hot dog trifecta?”  A teammate walked by with his tray.  I excitedly hoped for… you know; but my heart (and overall health) probably needed a salad.  With great anticipation I peered at the passerby’s plate.  And next to a mountain of beans was a huge pile of… Spaghetti!

BUT, much like the “Cracker Jack” eggs… this spaghetti contained a prize!


 I like my dogs with mustard and relish.” (and eggs, hamburger, and spaghetti)

*

3 thoughts on ““Relish The Moments”

  1. I know hot dogs are the classic ballpark food, but hot dogs on burgers seems pretty excessive. Maybe the cooks heard that Babe Ruth ate, like, thousands of hot dogs during the season (that dude really, really loved hot dogs) and thought hot dogs with every meal would bring you luck. That’s better than thinking they just had a bunch of hot dogs they had to get rid of.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I hope you don’t mind another question, Tim. You said in an earlier post that “in the Big Leagues meal money for an away trip could pay a month’s house mortgage.” I’ve always wondered though, when night games begin at 7 and go until 10 or later and then there are postgame interviews, and everyone has to shower and change – lots of restaurants stop serving after 10 or so. (Unless you’re in NYC or some other place which never sleeps.) I just always assumed that meant the ballplayers end up placing a lot of room service orders when they get back to the hotel, unless they chow down in the clubhouse after the game. Just wondering how that Big League meal money ever gets spent – perhaps more for liquid refreshments after a victory?

    I take it that when ballplayers eat breakfast lunch and dinner, they are probably not close to the times us 9 to 5 humans eat…

    Like

    • Hi Diane,
      It is true, players do keep strange hours. But to answer your question, the meal money usually pays for clubhouse dues. Which in essence pays for meals, snacks, shoeshines, clean laundry, etc. Meal money is also used for taxis, and tipping. Some use it to even pay hotel bill for internet, room service, movies, and mini bar.
      Hope this sheds some light.
      Thank you so much for reading this blog and commenting! Not really sure how blogs are suppose to work, but it’s fun!
      tim

      Like

Leave a Reply

